UAV extreme sport footage with the AscTec Falcon 8 at Mauritius

15. March 2013
AscTec_news_north-kite-ion-extreme-video-aerial-footage

The Boards&More group, including the North Kiteboarding, ION, Fanatic and North Sails brands, is the market leader in your water sports segment and dedicated to producing spectacular footage for your corporate films. Up till now, aerial footage had always been shot using manned helicopters, which made production inflexible and expensive. With a filming schedule booked far in advance, everything – wind, waves, light, actors – had to come together.

During filming in Mauritius, an AscTec Falcon 8 was used for all aerial shots for the first time ever. Normally we forward the request to our clients rather than providing the services ourselves, but not in this case.

Wind speeds constantly above 8 m/s and operation at up to 500 m out over open water were ideal test conditions for us. This application, at times far beyond the system specifications, was perfect for testing the new cameras and features extensively under real-life conditions. All footage was shot with the Sony CX730E.

Everyone was delighted with the UAV picture stability and quality of the aerial footage!

No-one expected such high quality video material from such a compact-sized flight system. Because of this, the material merged seamlessly into the production without major corrections.

In over 70 flights, at wind speeds between 8 and 15 m/s, starting from the boat and cramped launch platforms, everything worked perfectly. The client was delighted. The flexible application possibilities at flying altitudes from 1–300 m and the extremely short setup time scored highly in day-to-day use. The independent camera controls allowed the Comaproduktions cameramen to operate the camera themselves with no problems. Because of this, the AscTec Falcon 8 has found its way into and become accepted in the professional sector and poses a serious alternative to existing technology.

The booking for the next shoot has already been received and the helicopter has been written off for good. Our AscTec Falcon 8 has survived its baptism of fire under extreme conditions. Amazing technology!

The rider profile of Airton Cozzolino won the Nautic Video Award at the International Paris Boat Show.

RSS
Facebook
Google+
http://www.asctec.de/en/257">
Twitter
SHARE

UAV Extremsport-Aufnahmen mit dem AscTec Falcon 8 auf Mauritius

15. März 2013
AscTec_news_north-kite-ion-extreme-video-aerial-footage

Die Boards&More Gruppe mit den Marken North Kiteboarding, ION, Fanatic und North Sails ist Marktführer in Ihrem Wassersportsegment und setzt für Ihre Imagefilme auf spektakuläre Aufnahmen. Bisher wurden Luftaufnahmen stets von manntragenden Helikoptern realisiert, was die Produktion unflexibel und kostspielig machte. Beim weit im Voraus gebuchten Drehtermin musste stets alles auf den Punkt zusammenspielen: Wind, Wellen, Licht, Akteure.

Zum ersten Mal kam für sämtliche Luftaufnahmen beim Dreh auf Mauritius ein AscTec Falcon 8 zum Einsatz. Normalerweise führen wir Dienstleistungen nicht selbst durch und leiten die Anfragen an unsere Kunden weiter, in diesem Fall aber ausnahmsweise nicht.

Windgeschwindigkeiten von permanent über 8 m/s und der Einsatz bis 500 m draußen auf offener See waren die idealen Testbedingungen für uns. Dieser Einsatz zum Teil weit außerhalb der Systemspezifikationen war perfekt, um die neuen Kameras und Funktionen ausführlich unter Realbedingungen zu testen. Alle Filmaufnahmen wurden mit der Sony CX730E realisiert.

Die UAV Bildstabilität und -qualität der Luftaufnahmen hat alle begeistert!

Keiner erwartete so hochqualitatives Videomaterial von einem Flugsystem in dieser kompakten Größe. Das Material fügte sich somit ohne große Korrekturen nahtlos in die Produktion ein.

In über 70 Flügen, bei Windgeschwindigkeiten zwischen 8 und 15 m/s, beim Start vom Boot und auf beengten Startplattformen lief alles einwandfrei. Der Kunde war begeistert. Die flexiblen Einsatzmöglichkeiten in Flughöhen von 1 m – 300 m und die extrem kurze Rüstzeit überzeugten beim täglichen Einsatz. Mit der unabhängigen Kamerasteuerung konnten die Kameramänner von Comaproduktions ohne Probleme selbst die Kamera führen. Der AscTec Falcon 8 ist damit im Profibereich angekommen und akzeptiert worden und ist eine ernstzunehmende Alternative zu bestehenden Technologien.

Die Buchung für den nächsten Einsatz ist schon eingegangen, der Heli ist endgültig abgeschrieben. Unser AscTec Falcon 8 hat die Feuertaufe unter Extrembedingungen bestanden. Technik, die begeistert!

Das Rider Profil von Airton Cozzolino gewann auf der International Paris Boat Show den Nautic Video Award.

RSS
Facebook
Google+
http://www.asctec.de/257">
Twitter
SHARE